Types of Australian Universities – Canam Consultants

Types of Australian universities

Australia is one of the most preferred study abroad destinations for international students. Students from all over the world study in australia to get a quality education and experience the excellent education system, cultural diversity, post-study work opportunities and high standard of living.

Australia has some of the highest ranked universities in the world. All 8 Australian universities are among the top 100 universities in the world, and this blog revolves around the types of Australian universities.

Types of Australian Universities You Should Know

Universities of the 1960s-1970s:

To meet the demands of higher education, state governments established universities from the mid-1960s to the 1970s. The goal was to redefine the education model and make it different from the education model of traditional universities.

The universities that were formed during this period were:

  • Macquarie University
  • La Trobe University
  • flinders university
  • Griffith University
  • Newcastle University
  • James Cook University
  • Deakin University
  • Murdoch University
  • The University of Wollongong

Australian Technology Network (ATN):

Formed in 1999, the Australian Technology Network (ATN) is a group of five of Australia’s most innovative and enterprising universities focused on delivering impactful technology solutions to improve the economy and society. The ATN was formed in 1975 by the Directors of the Central Institutes of Technology (DOCIT) and dissolved in 1982.

Its member universities have expertise in the technological field of study, and they are:

  • University of South Australia
  • Sydney University of Technology
  • Deakin University
  • Curtin University
  • RMIT University

Group of Eight (Go8):

Formed in 1999, Group of Eight (Go8) is Australia’s largest and oldest educational institution pioneering research and education. It is a group of eight top Australian universities renowned for providing quality teaching and research facilities around the world. These have high rankings, offer plenty of research opportunities, and are famous among international students. Its member universities are:

  • University of Melbourne
  • Australian National University
  • University of Sydney
  • The University of Queensland
  • Monash University
  • The University of New South Wales in Sydney
  • The University of Western Australia
  • The University of Adelaide

Regional universities:

Established in 2011, Australia has a group of seven universities that fall under the Regional Universities Network (RUN) based in regional Australia. It aims to contribute significantly to the growth of regional economies and communities. Universities ensure that higher education is accessible to all and produce the skilled professionals needed for regional development. Its member universities are:

  • CQ University Australia
  • Charles Sturt University
  • Southern Cross University
  • University of New England
  • Federation University
  • University of Southern Queensland
  • University of the Sunshine Coast (USC)

New generation universities

Tertiary colleges were established by the Australian government for students graduating from upper secondary education to introduce them to the new type of tertiary institutions. In 1988, the distinction between the university and non-university sectors was dissolved. Also, the network of these universities was established as a pressure group in 2002, which lasted only a few years.

Its member universities were:

  • Australian Catholic University
  • Bond University
  • University of Canberra
  • Edith Cowan University
  • Notre Dame University
  • Victoria University
  • University of Western Sydney


We hope this blog has helped you learn more about types of Australian universities. To study in Australia and get trusted advice from certified study abroad advisers on selecting the best university/program for you, visit your nearest Canam Consultants office today.

Leave a Comment